Apple – Banana Oatmeal Muffins

How about some delicious and healthy snacks for the weekend?

I was trying to find a dessert recipe online that could ease my cravings and it wouldn’t take too long to make either. If laziness hurt…

I found this recipe on the My Fitness Pal blog  via Kim’s Cravings and it was love at first sight. Yes, I ended up making “muffins” again haha but before you would judge me, hear me out: I like muffin recipes …obviously…I think they are great because it is easy to play around with the ingredients, mix them up, take stuff away and/or add more to it if needed and then all I need to do is just throw them into a bowl, mix them up, pour into the pan and taaaaddaaaaaaam….dessert.

This is exactly how it happened this time too and the result was amazing!

IMG_3651

INGREDIENTS

2 cups of rolled oats
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons apple pie spice* (I did not have this so I skipped it)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup applesauce
1 medium apple, grated (nom nom nom)
1 large egg white
1/4 cup honey
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/3 cup dried cranberries
I also added 1/2 a banana and cinnamon

IMG_3631_Fotor_Collage

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to  350°F. Throw everything into a gigantic bowl and mix them together! 😀 I don’t like to use muffin paper so I usually put a little coconut oil into the muffin pan and rub it around the spots so the muffins won’t get stuck.

suti2 suti3

Bake it for about 30 minutes or until the middle of the muffins are solid. It took us a little shorter, about 23 minutes. Allow them to cool for about 10 minutes before eating…yes that will be the longest 10 minutes of your life but it is worth the wait!

kep4

I put them in the fridge for the night in a closed container and cut them in half in the morning and put peanut butter and mango jelly in the middle…it was a perfect energy bite in the morning and it is great after work out too!!!!

Even Echo approves, with a little wink….Go ahead and try, I promise it is amazing!

IMG_3652

♥♥♥

2 thoughts on “Apple – Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Leave a Reply

