Here’s to Friendship and the friend who never stops asking me if I wrote about her yet.

Yes I am going to do this, even though it started out mostly as a joke…

She complained about not being mentioned and I said: too bad…but then we talked again at a later time and she complained again and I said: oh nooo, too bad….but as the days and weeks passed by she didn’t really decrease the number of times she mentioned her disappointment about realizing the next blog post wasn’t about her either. So I said I was going to write a blog about her and name it: ‘The friend who never stops asking me if I wrote about her yet’…and then we both laughed and laughed..perhaps because she thought I was joking or simply she had this whole thing planned out and she finally sensed my willingness to do it…not sure but here I am doing it…(I believe she had this whole thing planned out)

But now let’s talk about my friend so she can read it and be happy about it and she will stop bugging the heck out of me with it. Yes this is what we do…lovingly bug the heck out of each other.

580500_10151536593638354_871576133_n

She is the kind of friend that I got stuck with almost 20 years ago (good lord) and the kind of friend I will be stuck with for eternity…:D

The kind of friend that I experienced so many “firsts” with: first time flying to America, first time playing beer-pong, first time going to Canada, first time snowboarding, waterskiing, surfing! First time seeing the Grand Canyon, Las Vegas and many many places! First time going to a water park and film festival! First time going to a Chicago Bulls Game, and a baseball game! First of so many things…

IMG_1813

The kind of friend I watched for 4 years eat only frozen pizza, hamburgers, fries, and burritos and never seen her gain weight so I can openly express my hate towards her…

10377531_10152730347063430_2812120957189089769_n

The kind of friend who I would count sheep (and after a while tennis balls and tennis socks) with for hours, when we were roommates and neither of us could fall asleep, despite the fact we had 6 am practice…

alphabet-sheep-sleep-boy-2

The kind of friend I can talk to without using any words…

IMG_1717

The kind of friend I can cuddle in bed with and no one will think it is weird…anymore…

221977_5520038353_8990_n

We have been through successful times, pretty unsuccessful times, “can’t remember but I am sure it was a good night” times, scary times, and horribly sad times. We cried on each others’ shoulders, we supported the other during rough days, and yes, if we are on the phone and the other one has to go to the bathroom, we won’t hang up.

10612705_10152313557458354_8656214867644612018_n

We came to the United States together 8 years ago. We barely knew what we were doing, got off the plane and headed to a strange hostel. Spent the night there, hoping we will still have all of our stuff in the morning haha… I have never felt so lost, scared and uncertain in my life, but having my friend by my side made it much easier.

sites

Just like if I look back at the past 28 years of my life, having friends made everything much better. I do miss them. Being far away from my family and friends is one of the hardest things to do. I sometimes wish I could go back in time for a day or two and re-live some great memories. Coming to the United States was one of the best decisions I could have ever made and I would do it again, but still…I left a part of my heart behind that no matter what I do or where I go, I will never be able to find anywhere else in the world.

  • I am so grateful for technology, I don’t know what would I do without being able to talk to my loved ones back home
    IMG_1814
  • I am so grateful for my wonderful friends who are still in touch with me and care about me, even though we don’t see each other very often! My life wouldn’t be the same without them, I love them so much and I miss them terribly every day! ♥♥♥♥♥
    IMG_1810
  • I am so grateful that I have met so many great people in my life and that all of them made an impact on me
    IMG_5431_Fotor_Collage
  • I am so grateful that I have people to go back to and we can start where we left off even if years pass by…unfortunately I don’t have pictures with everyone but you ALL know who you are!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    uj
  • I feel lucky because I got to travel quite a lot and meet so many new friends around the world.
    places
  • I am so lucky that I got to go to Milwaukee, and even though it was hard sometimes, I met the most amazing people there that I will love forever.
    1533746_10152430269483638_3636674277836780391_n_Fotor_Collage
    1375192_10151700848448354_1091511615_n
    12395546_10206345756060785_162623812_n-2
    IMG_7061_Fotor_Collage
  • I have lost some friends too in the meantime…friends that I have never thought I would lose. I miss them too every single day, but I am very thankful for their existence. They are still huge part of my life, even though they are not part of my everydays anymore!

I do miss home, and especially this time of the year. But now I have a family here too that I love and care about. Fantastic and amazing people that welcomed me in their families and that I am very honored for.

488290_10150997628863354_321626868_n_Fotor_Collage

I am happy with my choices and the decision I made 8 years ago to come here. But it does get hard sometimes and sometimes it feels like I am torn in the inside…

I wish I could shrink my loved ones (even though I have friends who are already “fun sized” 😀 ), put them in my pocket and carry them around with me….this is my wish for Christmas!!! 😀

3 thoughts on “Here’s to Friendship and the friend who never stops asking me if I wrote about her yet.

  1. Dear Bff!!
    I love you so much!! As I told you before this will be your best blog post 😊 Your family and friends are very lucky to have you in their life!! I miss you a lot, can’t wait to see you!!
    Thank you for this post!! I appreciate it!! You’re the BEST!! And YES, you were right, I had this whole thing planned out😊😘❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

