To Please My Sweet Tooth – Nog, Pumpkin Spice Waffles, and Harry Potter

And the pumpkin madness continues…

I went to Whole Foods the other day with the purpose of getting some eggnog. But unfortunately….or fortunately…(not sure) the nog in the store was placed very closely to a box of pumpkin spice coconut milk (whhhhhaaaaaat??). I never even knew such a thing existed which makes me wanna shed a tear when I think about all those past years of my life when I lived in the dark…

So yes…i got the pumpkin spice coconut milk and the nog and since both of these drinks were placed waaaay too close to the whipped cream and the whipped cream was staring at me like: are you seriously going to leave without me? You know you want me! You will go home, make your drinks, cozy up on the couch and that’s when it will hit you…you will miss me! You will be thinking: ooh i wish I had some whipped cream to put on the top of these delicious drinks…you don’t wanna do that. You don’t wanna regret leaving me behind…

…So I got the whipped cream too….(Have been having some issues with lactose so I went for the rice whip. It tasted just as good, however, it wasn’t as sweet but the drinks were sweet enough on their own)

The magic trio
The magic trio

On the box of the pumpkin spice coconut milk there was a recipe for some delicious pumpkin spice pancakes but since I am crazy about waffles I decided to make them in the waffle maker…We were planning on watching Harry Potter and I felt like some dessert and hot drinks would go well with it on these chilly nights…

IMG_1550

Luckily I found all the ingredients in our cupboard that is how I know it was meant to be! But let’s see the recipe here, so it is easier to read:

INGREDIENTS 

  • 1½ cup flour – I used whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar – I used coconut palm sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon ginger
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ¾ cup pumpkin purée
  • ½ very ripe banana
  • 1 cup Pumpkin Spice Coconut Milk
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil – I used coconut oil
  • optional: chopped walnuts or pecans, chocolate chip, chia seeds

DIRECTIONS

  • Whisk dry ingredients first and then add wet ingredients. I added walnuts, chocolate chip and chia seeds to the mix
  • Oil skillet or in my case the waffle maker
  • Pour mix in, cook, flip and tadaaaaaaa
  • Serve with jam, peanut butter, whipped cream, butter or just eat plain…it is delicious

(I tried to use good quality ingredients and healthier options, such as whole wheat flour, coconut oil and coconut palm sugar)

IMG_1551

When the waffles were ready I put them aside and made some nog to go with the movie night. I warmed up 2 cups of nog on the stove, poured whipped cream all over it and sprinkled some cinnamon on top…just for the looks and stuff 😀

IMG_1553

 

***ENJOY***

 

 

5 thoughts on “To Please My Sweet Tooth – Nog, Pumpkin Spice Waffles, and Harry Potter

Leave a Reply

