Budapest, Hungary

Budapest is my home town…which statement of mine would be argued by some of my “so called” friends, because I don’t exactly live in the town, therefore I can’t claim that I am as cool as they are…but stepping over this little painful detail of my childhood…I am now going to be bragging about this wonderful place that I believe everyone should see at least once in their life-time…

Budapest is the capital of Hungary, and just like Hungary as a whole, it has tremondous tremondus  tremendous (I used help to pronounce this word) amount of history. The city now is one, since the union of the two separate cities Buda and Pest in 1873…(hence the name Budapest). In the name, Buda got the first place because everyone knows it is the cooler side 😀 Now… that is a lie, don’t believe me…it is enough if I believe it is true.

The Danube river that runs through the middle of the city is Europe’s second largest river that starts in the Black forest, flows through 10 nations, and ends in the black sea…(I think it is a pretty magical…Black Forest…Black Sea…get it?:) )

No matter where I will end up in the world this wonderful and magical place will always be my home.

Now let’s see the cool stuff:

Budapest Parliament is the third largest (193,750 sq feet) parliament building in the world. There are more than 40 theaters, over 100 museums and art galleries in Budapest; bunch of concerts, music festivals ( Sziget Festival , which is one of the largest music festivals in Europe… Learn more about the festival here), thermal springs, ruin pubs ( if you don’t know what those are click here), castles, beautiful churches, islands, historical buildings, ice-cream shops, hot water-polo players, cute little stores, and many more to see…So if you are planning to go there, plan at least for 5-6 days that you can spend there.

Now here is the more exciting part…the pictures:

Buda Castle
Buda Castle
St. Stephen Basilica
St. Stephen Basilica
IMG_4980
Night-time Parliament
View from Buda Castle
View from Buda Castle
View to the Buda side
View to the Buda side
Heroes' Square
Heroes’ Square
I took this last December at Vajdahunyad Castle
I took this last December at Vajdahunyad Castle
City view not too bad
City view not too bad
Night time Parliament view...my shoes made it in the picture
Night time Parliament view…my shoes made it in the picture
Mathias church by the Buda Castle
Mathias church by the Buda Castle
Parliament close up
Parliament close up
Chair lift view to the city
Chair lift view to the city
Budapest, Deak Ferenc Square
Budapest, Deak Ferenc Square

So this is it, I hope you liked what you saw so far…if you are planning to go there, let me know in the comment box or email me and I can give you some travel tips 🙂

One thought on “Budapest, Hungary

  1. I love you my “not so Budapest-born” sis
    BUT… just some correction…
    Budapest before the union there were 3 different cities: Buda, Pest and Obuda…

    And as an original “Pest-born” Pest has the nicer and more sightseeing so Pest part is better! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

